//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

euro scribbles: pinch me, I’m dreaming.

(Apologies for the delay… Been back a week and still catching up!)

So… 4, 575 miles later, it turns out the Trematon castle is not on the hotel property after all.

In fact, it was about 45 minutes away– just next to the train station. We had a feeling, rolling in late that evening… no views of the Plymouth harbor or glimpses of the English Channel. Just rolling moors and a river…

But a happy mistake it was…

We wove ourselves through terrifyingly narrow roads with a cab driver who clearly knew how to navigate, climbed up a few hills and descended further into what promised to be an enchanted forest. We rolled up to a human sized hobbit hotel, complete with partly thatched rooftops and a grand fireplace to greet us. A warm meal and restful sleep later, we woke to birds and a kind, generous sun. We quickly resolved to let it go and see it first thing tomorrow morning. Today, we would live like an old-fashioned novel set in the rural parts of England. Crusts would be slivered from our afternoon sandwiches and lawn games would follow. This really happened. I kid you not… So this is what it feels like to live in a Jane Austen novel for a day, I thought… Well, not entirely. For one, it wouldn’t be complete without a ball. Alas, that did not arrive.

I admit, this is a teeny corner of the earth I thought only existed in my imagination. a variety of trees, birds and flowers abound here. From bamboo and palm trees, to thick skyscraping sepia colored trunks of deep deciduous forest, there are so many forms of life. Waterfalls trickle throughout, moss covered trees meet you at the trail and the fresh blooms of magnolia shed their fuzzy gray budded coats on the dirt road (I may have thought there was a mass mouse suicide).

We took a run along the river, hiked through a couple marked gardens, sipped a glass of dry rose with our lunch on the patio and played croquet on the lazy, stretch of lawn. A nap and a moment to write before dinner… I don’t think days get more perfect.

Should you ever find yourself in London with even 2 days to spare, hop on a train to Saltash (3.5 hours), have a taxi take you to Hotel Endsleigh. Then… just watch the dial turn a touch slower on the clock.

So tomorrow is the castle, a ride back to London, a visit to the Churchill War Rooms, followed by dinner at Trishna. I will wrap up with a quick run down of good bites, sips and sleep with the next blog. Even if I couldn’t take all the recommendations given, I would love to share a few should you have more time!

About mistralwine1982

Originally from Wisconsin, I moved to Colorado in 2005 in order to get closer to the mountains and rock climb. When it occurred to me that I would never make money with that hobby, I went to grad school. I received a masters in English and American Literature from New York University in May of 2009. I have since then opted not to pursue a PhD, for studying and writing about wine is far more fascinating (well, perhaps not moreso than Virginia Woolf, but still… for the long haul?). My favorite wines come from the old world, especially the Rhone, Burgundy, Rioja, Piedmont, and Tuscany. I am also smitten with roses, Italian hard-to-pronounce white varietals, and dessert wines from around the world. By day I run a wine shop. By nite, I sip and tell. It’s rough… but someone must do this.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

