//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

I resolve. Do you?

Every year, I find myself looking forward to New Year’s a little bit more. Perhaps, the idea of a new start, a fresh beginning is what I need to annually jumpstart my life, my intentions and motivations. Like spring cleaning for the soul. It seems a cliche, sure. But if you knew me, you’d know that I really do try my hardest to fulfill every last resolution I set out to complete. And for the most part, I succeed.

The trick is not to set myself up to fail. I break my life up into fragments: professional, physical, friendship, family, love, home, intellectual, mental and adventure. Then, I consider how to work on each, and I choose one way to improve each…well, within reason.

Last year, my major resolution was to kick my nasty habit of nail-biting. In fifth grade it was innocent enough. In high school, neurotic. As an adult, it was just gross. I now can’t keep them short enough, they grow so fast!

This year, I have a whole new set of goals…

Professional: I resolve to force myself to learn how to promote this blog and my personal consulting website:

www.thepersistentpalatewine.com. How is it that I am not up to speed with the rest of my generation who seem to google, facebook and build websites in their sleep?Physical: I resolve to get back into rock climbing. I will dig up two times a week that fit in my schedule and learn not to get frustrated at the fact that I will not come close to the level I once was when I went four or five times a week. If I don’t start working on my little pipes, I soon won’t have the strength to swirl my stem or double fist at tastings!

Friendship: I resolve to say one extremely nice thing to one close friend each month when it is not their birthday. This hardly seems to require any effort, but how often do you pause and compose one really poignant insight about someone important in your life? When I reflect, it’s not often enough to tell those who matter how and why they matter.

Family: I resolve to establish a closer relationship with my sister who just moved to Denver and with the one who currently lives here. We all kind of live our own lives, and the older I get, the more crucial I find it to be that I take advantage of the rare gift siblings can offer one in a way no other person can.

Love: I resolve to say ‘love’ less and show love more. Once a month I intend to conscientiously do something that is 100% selfless in the effort to produce a smile in someone I love. (Okay fine, it will make me happy, too. So maybe not entirely selfless…)

Intellectual: I resolve to digest one current events article a week and engage with someone about it, whether in actual conversation or an online forum. I resolve to remove myself from the bubble I often find myself serenely slumbering within.

Mental: I resolve to actually plan a day for no plans once a month in my planner. Yes, it really has gotten to that point, and my sanity is at stake.

Adventure: I resolve to see some of the most popular Colorado mountain towns I still, embarrassingly, have not seen: Steamboat Springs, Minturn, Crested Butte and (don’t laugh) Aspen. I am seriously lame. No one should like Denver that much.

I almost forgot…

Wine: I resolve to justify Champagne and Chablis more often. What other wines have the capacity to produce an irrepressible smile so consistently? I also resolve to open my mind more to new world wines. Yes, there are many I think are fantastic. But at the end of the day, I seldom go home with a domestic wine. I need to order it more when I am out and use it to pair with meals at home. There’s no reason I can’t do that at least…once a month.

So there it is. On paper. Holding me accountable.

Now, how about you? I am always deeply curious about other peoples’ personal intentions. This holiday can be more than just a reminder that another year has come and gone. It is inspiring, rejuvinating and cathartic to push restart. And what better way to begin again than by taking a few minutes to contemplate.

If you need a sounding board, I am just on the other side of the send button. So go ahead. Give me just one…

About mistralwine1982

Originally from Wisconsin, I moved to Colorado in 2005 in order to get closer to the mountains and rock climb. When it occurred to me that I would never make money with that hobby, I went to grad school. I received a masters in English and American Literature from New York University in May of 2009. I have since then opted not to pursue a PhD, for studying and writing about wine is far more fascinating (well, perhaps not moreso than Virginia Woolf, but still… for the long haul?). My favorite wines come from the old world, especially the Rhone, Burgundy, Rioja, Piedmont, and Tuscany. I am also smitten with roses, Italian hard-to-pronounce white varietals, and dessert wines from around the world. By day I run a wine shop. By nite, I sip and tell. It’s rough… but someone must do this.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I resolve. Do you?

  1. Hi Ashley. This is one of the best ‘resolution’ lists I’ve read in a long time. I love your blog and the way you write about life & wine. I will keep telling my wine-loving pals to check it out…to help further your ‘professional resolution.’ Take care!

    Posted by Camryn | 01/03/2011, 8:59 am

Leave a Reply

