//
you're reading...
denver restaurants, french wine

licking rocks.

Alright.  I’ve been now twice.  It’s time to share my great find with the locals (one should never hoard a lovely discovery—though one may partake a few times before unveiling).

On a typical, unassuming Thursday evening, I happened upon a most unexpected wine list at downtown jazz café: Trios Enoteca, just across the street from the historic Union Station.  Colin Heinrich is the wine director/sommelier at this quaint, jazzy lounge in lodo.

When my eyes caught the 2000 Domaine du Galets des Papes Chateauneuf du Pape at $69, I was curious.  I am a sucker for aged wine, let alone aged CdP.  In the company of a few other wine nerds, we went for it.  And what a great decision that was…

My first impression: licking rocks.

That has to be one of my favorite wine descriptors.  I mean, it’s not like I partake in the literal act of slurping stones, but if you’ve ever had mineral rich Chablis, Muscadet, or Riesling and fell in love as a result, then you can relate to my own entrancement with this complex characteristic that leaves me weak in the knees.

If you are unsure what minerality really tastes like, well then, my friend, head down to Trios and try this CdP.  Beyond that, an elaborate etude comprised of garrigue, dark forest flora, wet soil, spring rain, and the aftermath of wet snail (sounds gross, but just you see…).  This wine’s age shows integration on the palate, a delicate blending of warm spices.  I reveled in every last sip…

…and went back two days later to live the moment all over again.  It wasn’t in my head.  It really was that good even the second time ‘round.

They have several wines I am eager to explore, as it’s not every day you find a list with such random back vintages.  Though I cannot vouch for the wines just yet, I’ll disclose a few I have my eye on:

– 2001 San Rustico ‘Gaso’ Amarone Valpolicella at $97

– 2001 Sanguineti Brunello di Montalcino at $105

– 2002 Montevertine Pian del Ciampolo at $62

– 2003 Clos Montirius Vacqueyras at $52

– 2000 Petite Faurie de Soutard St Emilion at $115

– 2000 Franz Shiraz at $82

– 2003 Bonny Doon Le Cigare Volant at $67

– 1997 Pelissero Barbaresco at $120

– 1998 Scavino Barolo at $98

So check it out.  They always have live music, great pizzas (especially the #5!), and good vibes.

About mistralwine1982

Originally from Wisconsin, I moved to Colorado in 2005 in order to get closer to the mountains and rock climb. When it occurred to me that I would never make money with that hobby, I went to grad school. I received a masters in English and American Literature from New York University in May of 2009. I have since then opted not to pursue a PhD, for studying and writing about wine is far more fascinating (well, perhaps not moreso than Virginia Woolf, but still… for the long haul?). My favorite wines come from the old world, especially the Rhone, Burgundy, Rioja, Piedmont, and Tuscany. I am also smitten with roses, Italian hard-to-pronounce white varietals, and dessert wines from around the world. By day I run a wine shop. By nite, I sip and tell. It’s rough… but someone must do this.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

